I may only be taking one class this quarter. As I have mentioned before, I had a problem with my Algebra class. The problem: I didn’t have a clue what I was doing. Well, it was an intermediate class. I had only taken one class in my life that even remotely resembled Algebra.

When that became an issue, I let my academic adviser know about it, and was assured that there was a basic class I could take this quarter.Their term for it was Fundamentals of Algebra. So I was supposedly set to take it, but the class never materialized on my schools on-line interface for upcoming classes. Only one class has shown up, one of the classes Sue took this past quarter, Effective Writing for the College Student.

Today I get set up with a new academic adviser, who informs me that I am taking the same class that I was taking before.  When I tried to explain to him that this class was not the same class he got very snotty with me, and suggested I take a beginner Algebra class at another school. Then this jerk hangs up on me. I just can’t seem to win with going to school.

Maybe I am just stupid, but it seems to me that there is a difference between Intermediate, and Basic, or Fundamentals. To me Basic or Fundamentals means beginner, and Intermediate means secondary.  I was led to believe by my previous Academic Adviser there were different classes.  So it looks like I may only be taking one class this quarter.

More news when I know something.

