Several months ago, I came out in support of Hillary Clinton for President. At that time, I felt that Barak Obama had no substance to back up his pretty speeches. What I saw on his website at that time did not impress me.

However, time often brings about changes. I have followed the primary season fairly closely, and realized that Hillary for all her millions of cracks in the glass ceiling, was not going to win the nomination. I began to read more about Obama, his site began to include some plans on how he was going to achieve these changes he has in mind. I started to believe that maybe, just maybe I had been wrong about him. (Of course the fact that the Obama website began to evolve might have helped!)

When it became obvious to me that Barak Obama was going to be the nominee, I help out a hope that he would pick Hillary Clinton for Vice President, the so called “dream team” That of course didn’t happen.

I had told Sue that I would not be happy if he picked Joe Biden. There was something about Biden that I didn’t like, I just couldn’t put my finger on it. (It turned out that in my twisted mind, I had confused Biden for McBushes buddy, Phil Graham of the “Nation of whiners” comment … I should have remembered that Graham was a Republican.

After Obama chose Biden, I looked up his site online, and was pleasantly surprised to find that Biden hold many of the same beliefs and convictions that I do. He is pro life, which I am, has done a lot of work to try to get equal rights for women, minorities and gays, and the fact that he is the Chairman of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, also impresses me.

So over the course of several months, I have come full circle to saying there was no way I could support Obama, that I would write in Hillary on November 4th, to the position I am in now. I will here now state categorically, that I intend to vote for Barak Obama, and Joesph Biden on election day.

Now to the other side. I have found myself referring to the Republican nominee as McBush, as John McCain will, if elected in effect provide Shrub with his third term. Let me state her though, that I do admire and respect John McCain for his valor and service to this country. I cannot imagine what it would have been like to have been a prisoner of war. He endured, and showed great courage, and nothing he has done since will take that away. I just cannot respect his politics. I have not, and never will. He is too much like George W. Bush ( Or as I call him Shrub, or Emperor Doofus… take your pick!)  However I listened to a short bit of his acceptance speech last night, and while I respect his service, for him to trot his being a prisoner out on stage for the pity and sympathy vote is appalling. We all know that he was a POW, and many of us respect him for that, as I have already said. We know about it, John, so shut up about it already.

That brings me to McBush’s Veep pick. Sarah “Pit-bull-Hockey Mom” Palin. Her biggest claim to fame is that she balanced the budget in Alaska. Way to go, congratulations. That however doesn’t qualify you to be a heartbeat away from the presidency. Any more than MacBush having been a POW qualifies him to be president!

I caught a few minutes of Palin’s speech the other night, and was disgusted by the childish booing whenever she talked about “Our Opponent” she would not even mention Obama by name.  (well, she’s admittedly not very well versed in Beltway dealings, so maybe she doesn’t know his name…)  The booing was a bit overdone, however this was at the Republican National Convention, so I consider the source.

To be fair, I went online to the Obama campaign site, and watched Joe Biden’s first speech. There was some mild booing when he talked about Bush and his eight years of failed policies.

Palin also made some major boo boos in her speech, they are too many to point out here, but I will cover just one. She claimed over and over that Obama (Sorry – Our Opponent) would raise everyones taxes…

Here is a direct quote from Obamas website on the economy:

Provide Middle Class Americans Tax Relief

Obama will cut income taxes by $1,000 for working families to offset the payroll tax they pay.

  • Provide a Tax Cut for Working Families: Obama will restore fairness to the tax code and provide 150 million workers the tax relief they need. Obama will create a new “Making Work Pay” tax credit of up to $500 per person, or $1,000 per working family. The “Making Work Pay” tax credit will completely eliminate income taxes for 10 million Americans.
  • Eliminate Income Taxes for Seniors Making Less than $50,000: Barack Obama will eliminate all income taxation of seniors making less than $50,000 per year. This proposal will eliminate income taxes for 7 million seniors and provide these seniors with an average savings of $1,400 each year. Under the Obama plan, 27 million American seniors will also not need to file an income tax return.

Can you tell me, Governor Palin how this looks like Obama wants to raise everyone’s taxes?

If Palin is this lax at what the opposition is saying, then she needs to stay in Alaska, and balance the budget, and take care of her family… By the way, I feel for her and her family having a special needs infant. Can you imagine a president or eve Vice President who has to deal with a 911 type crisis at the same time her Downs Syndrome child is having medical problems? Frankly I think she should make herself more available to be there for her 17n year old pregnant daughter Bristol too.

What do we get if we elect McBush? More of the same, more failed economy, more home foreclosures, more gas prices and other prices spiraling upward while jobs spiral downward. More countries that hate the US, for it’s foreign policy of forcing our way of life down the throats of other countries.

Vote for change the we can believe in Vote for Barak Obama. I plan to.

