Last night marked the first of three debates between Barack Obama, the Democratic Presidential Candidate, and John McCain, the Republican. Let me state here at the beginning that prior to watching the debate, I intended to vote for Barack Obama. Additionally I do not like John McCain, although like many in the country I respect the service he gave to this country a a POW in Viet Nam.  After watching the debate, I like McCain even less, and I will most assuredly vote for Barack Obama.

The status of the debate was up in the air since Wednesday when suddenly, McCain (or as we now call him- McCheeks) decided to suspend his campaign, and fly to Washington to “help with the big bad financial crisis.” He apparently told David Letterman that he was cancelling an appearance on Letterman’s show because he was literally rushing to the airport to “save the country”. Letterman found out that McCheeks was still in New York being interviewed by Katie Couric on the CBS Evening News… Letterman was livid!

At that time McCheeks said he would not show up for the debate until this bailout deal was signed, sealed, and delivered so to speak. He shows up, and the deal that was practically in the bag went down the tubes… Hmm coincidence? I doubt it! I have read that even Republicans who were working to broker this bailout told McCain to get the hell out of there!

I woderif his reluctance to meet with and debate Obama was due to the fact that McCheeks has taken a double digit dip in the polls in the last couple of weeks. Nahh, couldn’t be!

So then Friday, McCheeks changed his mind again… ( Flip flopping more than John Kerry in a Waffle House!) and decides to show up for the debate after all.

He shook hands with Obama at the start, and I swear that was the last time he looked at Obama for the next 90 minutes. McCheeks was arrogant, condescending, conceited, and just an all around jackass! Obama tried to be respectful and attempted to look at his opponent while he was talking to him, but McCheeks steadfastly refused to look in Obamas’ direction even when moderator Jim Lehrer of PBS repeatedly asked him to.

Over and over McCheeks repeated the phrase “Senator Obama just doesn’t get doesn’t understand…” until I was sick of it.  It took longer than I thought it would, but eventually McCheeks trotted out the old, “When I was a prisoner  war in Viet Nam…” He even tried to make a couple of lame jokes that went over like a pregnant pole vaulter.

At one point while Obama was making a point, McCheeks famous temper got the better of him. He interrupted Obama with a “Oh Please!!! ” and proceeded to take the rest of Obama’s time on the question.

Not that Obama was perfect. Several times when McCheeks was pontificating, Obama was caught saying things like “That’s not true, Not what  I said” etc. He would have been better served to have waited until McCheeks was done ranting and then pointed out McCheeks errors. I suppose it is hard to wait for a know it all blowhard to shut the hell up though.

Overall, I would say that Barack Obama came out of this first debate looking presidential. McCheeks came out looking like the angry, Bush backing, old fart that he is.

I cannot wait until this coming Thursday, October 7 when Joe Biden gets to debate the Barbie Doll Veep pick of McCheeks. The idea of Sarah Palin being one heartbeat away from the presidency scares the hell out of me. She is not Vice Presidential material, let alone presidential material. Before anyone accuses me of being a chauvinist, or a misogynist, let me remind you that for most of last year, and until the inevitable happened, I supported Hillary Clinton. So the idea of a woman in the White House doesn’t bother me. I just don’t want one that thinks a woman should not have rights over her own body. I don’t want a woman who thinks she has foreign policy experience because she lives next to a foreign country.  I’m not kidding. She actually said that to Katie Couric. By that reckoning, I have foreign policy because I live in Texas which is next to Mexico. Of course Mexico is not Russia but still. “We have trade missions” Palin had commented to Couric. Please! Anyway, that debate should prove to be even more interesting than the first one between McCheeks, and Obama.

